Metropolitan Area Building & Construction Department (MABCD)

Appeals Board of Plumbers and Gas Fitters Minutes December 18th 2019 Meeting

Present: Larry Dougherty, Ray Frederick, Seth Harrington, Beau Means, Shaun Conway, Curtis Unkel, Evan Lies, John Clark and Kirk Stoddard

Staff: Jason Little MABCD, Jeff VanZant City Legal Department, Billie Vines, Wichita Public Works and Utilities.

Beau Means called meeting to order.

Oath of Office administered to Sedgwick County appointees Larry Dougherty, Seth Harrington, Shawn Conway, Beau Means and Evan Lies by Lynda Baker.

Motion to nominate Beau Means to serve as Chairperson by Evan Lies,

Second by Larry Dougherty. Unanimous approval.

Motion to nominate Ray Frederick to serve as Vice Chairperson by John Clark.

Second by Larry Dougherty. Unanimous approval.

Motion to nominate Evan Lies to Chairperson for Code review committee by John Clark. Evan declined to accept the position.

Motion to nominate Kirk Stoddard to serve as Chairperson for the Code review committee by John Clark.

Second by Larry Dougherty. Unanimous approval.

Motion to approve, receive and file Minutes from the September 25th Plumbing Board meeting by Seth Harrington.

Second by Beau Means. Unanimous approval.

Motion to maintain Appeals Board for Plumbers and Gas Fitters meeting day as the last Wednesday of the month at 9:00am.

Second by Shaun Conway. Unanimous approval.

Motion to table discussion of the meeting day and time for code review committee by Beau Means.

Second by Seth Harrington. Unanimous approval.

Motion to support an award of recognition for service to the Appeals Board for Plumbers and Gas Fitters by concerned citizens and past Board members by Evan Lies.

Second by Seth Harrington. Unanimous approval.

Jason Little submitted documents on IPC and UPC usage data.

Motion by Ray Frederick to end dual code and adopt only the UPC with appropriate amendments.

Second by John Clark. Vote 8 in favor of the notion, Curtis Unkel abstained from this vote.

City Council appointees Ray Frederick, Curtis Unkel, John Clark, Kirk Stoddard and Larry Dougherty were administered the Oath of Office by Jaime Buster.

Jeff VanZant led a discussion and training on KOMA regulations.

Motion at adjourn by John Clark.

Second by Ray Frederick. Unanimous approval.